Today’s Astronomical Events – September 2nd, 2014

The first quarter Moon appears near to Antares, the star below the ‘R’ of Scorpius in the image above. (Evening sky.)

Image Courtesy of Mobile Observatory.

 

08:43 UT – The almost first quarter Moon passes 8.9° north of Antares. (Ophiuchus, evening sky.)

12:12 UT – First Quarter Moon. (Ophiuchus, evening sky.)

Asteroid 3 Juno leaves Gemini and enters Monoceros. (Magnitude 9.2, pre-dawn sky.)

 

Events in bold involve objects that are easily visible with the naked eye.

All times are in Universal Time (UTC). To convert the time to your timezone, click here. The image above represents the view from New York City. Other locations within North America and the United Kingdom should see a similar scene.

 

2015 An Astronomical Year - Cover

 

 

Learn more about every upcoming astronomical event in 2015 An Astronomical Year

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Today’s Astronomical Events – September 2nd, 2014

      • Thanks, and no problem. You may have noticed from my blog (I found you because you followed mine) that I’m fascinated with astronomy, and yours is the only astronomy site I’ve found that I don’t need some weird account to follow!

        I noticed your blog stats shows you at 147 views. How long have you had your blog? I take it you don’t have many followers?

        I’d be more than willing to promote your blog through mine. I’ll add you to my blogroll (can’t promise it’ll work, I hardly ever get clicks there) and I’m already thinking of dedicating my next astronomy-related post to you as a token of appreciation…you can see just how grateful I am! Hope I’m not overdoing it!

        Like

      • Hey Perse

        I’m glad you like it 🙂

        I’ve only had the blog for a couple of days so I’m just getting started. It’s kind of a work-in-progress and I’m looking to see what works and what doesn’t work.

        For example, I’ll be adding images to simulate the sky view from Australia, the United Kingdom and North America in future posts.

        I’m trying to make it accessible to everyone so anyone can see something but I think that’s something I’ll have to work at too – for example, I’ll probably add a glossary at some point too 🙂

        In the meantime, if you’re willing and able to mention me or promote me in any way, I’d greatly appreciate it! Thanks a lot!

        Like

      • Sounds wonderful! I recommend you add more words. Descriptions, fun facts, explanations of what the heck what you currently have means…(see how little I know?)

        I’ve had mine since the beginning of April. I’m currently at 1,289 views. Tell you what—you keep up the good astronomy work and in exchange I’ll lend you any blogging tips if you just ask. My email is perseshow@gmail.com. I’ll mention you in astronomical context whenever I can!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would write more but right now it’s a matter of time. I have a several other blogs that I maintain too – one is AstroNews – http://astronewsus.wordpress.com/ – although someone else maintains that for me.

        The other is a more personal blog but I’ll email you the link. I’ve been writing that blog for nearly three years and I have a small group of loyal readers LOL (I like to joke that I have nearly 400 followers and only 4 of them read it regularly LOL)

        Like

Leave a Reply

