Today’s Astronomical Events – October 8th, 2014

There is a total lunar eclipse that occurs in the early hours of the 8th for much of North America. Observers in eastern Australia and New Zealand will see totality from moonrise (shortly after sunset) in the evening.

Sky Images Courtesy of Mobile Observatory.

Moon and Uranus from Stellarium.

The images above are as follows:

Eastern Australia – totality at 8:54pm local time.

United Kingdom – totality not visible. View is 10pm local time.

North America -the image above depicts the position of the Moon at totality.

  • 6:54am ET
  • 5:54am CT
  • 4:54am MT
  • 3:54am PT

(Click on an image to enlarge.)

 

 

05:34 UT – Uranus is at opposition. (Magnitude 5.7, diameter 3.7″, Pisces, visible all night.)

08:17 UT – Penumbral lunar eclipse  begins.

09:18 UT – Partial lunar eclipse begins.

10:27 UT – Total lunar eclipse begins.

10:51 UT – Full Moon. (Pisces, visible all night.)

10:54 UT – Midpoint of total lunar eclipse.

10:59 UT – The full Moon passes north of Uranus. (Uranus: magnitude 5.7, diameter 3.7″, Pisces, visible all night.)

11:22 UT – Total lunar eclipse ends.

12:32 UT – Partial lunar eclipse ends.

13:32 UT – Penumbral lunar eclipse ends.

The Draconid meteor shower reaches its peak. (Zenith Hourly Rate: Variable. Moon: Full)

 

Events in bold involve objects and/or events that are easily visible with the naked eye.

All times are in Universal Time (UTC). To convert the time to your timezone, click here.

 

Learn more about every upcoming astronomical event in 2015 An Astronomical Year (Kindle eBook) and The Astronomical Almanac (2015-2019) (Kindle eBook) and The Astronomical Almanac (2015-2019) (Paperback Edition).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s